Diary of a Senior Geek
Diary of a Senior Geek
DOASG Ep099 - I Dissent! - The Podcast
0:00
-9:50

DOASG Ep099 - I Dissent! - The Podcast

Time to take decisive action against the right wing extremists on the Supreme Court

The notes for this podcast are nearly identical to the newsletter I wrote yesterday, with the addition of this link to the Wikipedia article on “With great power comes great responsibility.”

I’ve also embedded related articles at the end.1

As near as I can tell, three of the current members of the Supreme Court of the United States are guilty of perjury during their confirmation hearings before the Senate and another two are guilty of, at the very least, taking bribes.

We must impeach them. Now. They have illustrated very clearly that they don’t understand how a constitutionals democracy works.

As I understand it is black letter law in this country that nobody, NOBODY, is above the law.

This especially applies to the President of the United States. Apparently five members of our current SCOTUS are concerned that a President might be “chilled” from taking action if he feared prosecution once he left office.

GOOD! Given the extreme power currently held by the Chief Executive in our country, there MUST be consequences if that power is abused.

Subscribed

A very conservative former Federal Judge, Michael Luttig, has strongly criticized today’s SCOTUS ruling on presidential immunity.

In my humble opinion the three most recently appointed justices committed perjury before the U.S.Senate when they assured them that they believed in stare decisis (established Legal Precedent), then proceeded to overrule Roe v Wade which has been in force for over half a century and Chevron Deference, which has been on the books for more than 4 decades.

It’s too soon to know what effects the Chevron Deference ruling will have, but the results of overturning Roe are abundantly clear. In many states it is now very dangerous to be a woman of child-bearing age. An ectopic pregnancy or other complication cannot be treated without likely major legal consequences for the woman, her doctor, hospital, and possibly even the person that drove her to the hospital.

All this in the (as far as I can tell) mistaken belief that God doesn't want women to have control over their own bodies.

Thank you for reading Diary of a Senior Geek. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

The “exeptions” in some state laws would be laughable if they weren’t so tragic. Often a doctor would need to defend their actions in criminal court if they use medical best practices to treat an ectopic pregnancy or other complication affecting the woman’s health, life and/or fertility.

But I digress. It is clear to me that at least five of the nine justices on the Supreme Court are not-so-closeted Christian Nationalists who are not ruling constitutional balls and strikes.

Instead they have their own agendas which are not aligned with our constitutional democratic republic. A couple of them try to mask their true intentions as “originalism”, “textualism” or some such. This is, to use a technical term, bullshit.

There is no way the founders could have envisioned such things as AR-15s, bump stocks, or even hedge funds. Trying to determine how people who had never seen a railroad or an automobile would legislate today is ludicrous.

These activist justices must be removed, and in some cases prosecuted for using their positions for their own personal enrichment.

Or, expand the court to dilute their influence. I used to be dead set against that, but I think it’s time for extreme measures.

In fear for our democracy, I DISSENT!

Lastly, in the upcoming election, vote for candidates who understand and support democracy and our constitution. If you can’t bring yourself to vote for a Democrat for president, write yourself in, or leave that line blank, then vote for non-MAGA senators, representatives and other down ballot candidates.

Alright. When I started this column I was PISSED! [could you tell?]

I feel a little better now.


If you want to support my efforts and be able to comment you can start a paid subscription 60% off the regular price, $2 a month or one year or $20 per year.

Get 60% off forever

Or send me a one-time donation of a dollar (or more) to SeniorGeek49 on Venmo.


You can find me at any one of these places:

bio.site/SeniorGeek

Threads

Instagram

X

Facebook

BlueSky

Mastadon

Threads

0 Comments
Diary of a Senior Geek
Diary of a Senior Geek
Currently I'm mostly talking about current events and how they are affecting my family, friends, the world, and me. I also talk about my personal philosophy and things I've learned over seven-plus decades, and am still learning.
The RSS link for this podcast is https://api.substack.com/feed/podcast/1576740.rss
If you have an iOS device please add it to the built-in Podcasts app. You have no idea how much it helps.